Pursuing Perfection

You know when you’re at the check out stand in the grocery store and you have a couple of people ahead of you?  What do you do?  Well, I must confess that I read the headlines of the magazine articles.  Some of the articles sounded genuinely interesting and maybe I could use some of the information in my life, but others just make me want to scream.  The typical articles I found were of these type: “What makes a woman irresistible,”  “Lose 10 pounds in 10 days,” “Finding the perfect mate,” and my personal favorite (I’m being sarcastic here) “Bedside Astrologer: Your 365-day guide to finding true love, sexual bliss and total harmony.”  WOW!  This is fantastic.  All I have to do is read these articles and I will have total bliss, the perfect mate, be thin and totally irresistible.  Yeah. Ok. Let’s stop that fantasy train and get back to reality.  When I was younger I read all the articles, took all the quizzes and tried to change myself into something I definitely was not. Where did it get me?  Let me share a little bit about that.  At the age of 25, because I tried to change myself into this “perfect” person, I landed in a 30-day treatment center for eating disorders. I had starved myself, purged food from my body, and obsessively exercised until I thought I was perfect.  Well, 30-days in this facility with other women who had done the same thing, only showed me that I was still far from perfect. And no matter how thin I became, how athletic I was, or what clothing size I wore, I would never, ever achieve the perfection that I once thought was within my grasp.  While I was in this center a Channel 12 news crew came and wanted to do a story on the “Pursuit of Perfection.”  Well, my doctor was interviewed and then they interviewed me.  As we gathered around the news that evening and watched this report, I saw myself, (my face was blacked out) and I heard what I did, how I had abused my body to strive for something that is unattainable. Looking back, I believe that’s when God spoke to my heart, took me by the hand and said, “I made you the way you are for a reason, be who you are, I love you, I have a plan.” We need to stop trying to be something we aren’t and start being who God made us to be.  We are created in His image, His likeness.  Why would we want to be anything else?  To my knowledge there has only been and will only be one perfect person.  Jesus Christ!  We, as humans, are fallible, we have weakness, we backslide, make mistakes and we sin.  Jesus was the perfect, unblemished lamb that was slain for you and me.  He died for us, just as we are.  Human and full of imperfection.  God thought we were worth sending His Son to die for.  What does that tell you?  God tells us to come to Him just as we are.  We don’t have to clean up our act first, get rid of the sin in our lives, be 20 pounds lighter, or be irresistible to the opposite gender. Come as you are!  Let God take care of the rest.

3 thoughts on “Pursuing Perfection

Leave a Reply

